On Sundays We Brunch

Austin, Blogger, brunch, Foodie, Sandra Bullock, Texas, Walton's Fancy & Staple

I don’t know about you, but brunch is one of my favorite meals! I love having breakfast type foods in the middle of the day. Who am I kidding? I love any type of food in the middle of the day, but brunch is one of my favs. I was never a big “brunch” person until I moved to Texas. In fact, I had not heard of such until I was living in Houston my first year (back in 2013) and overheard people talking about “brunching” over the weekend. So crazy, but so true!

This past Sunday, I decided to have brunch at Walton’s Fancy & Staple. This was not my first visit here, but the food was delicious last time that I wanted to revisit. I love everything about this restaurant – even the fact that it is owned by the beautiful and talented Sandra Bullock. It’s located in the heart of downtown right off of 6th street: 609 W. 6th St, Austin, TX 78701. The exterior features a stairwell that leads to a rustic brick side wall along with their logo and beautiful greenery which makes the perfect photo-op.

walton18

Once inside the ambiance is really cozy. It reminds me of what an old cafe or bakery would look like back in the day with a few modern touches. The interior is also very rustic-chic and decorated so beautifully with accents of green, white, and brown which gives off a warm and welcoming vibe. I also love that there is greenery everywhere: air plants, succulents, flowers, and big green plants! The walls are brick which adds to its natural flair. It’s hard not to feel at home in this restaurant.

walton15

Upon entering, there is a huge bar style table to the left with bar stools for people to sit and eat. There are also tables in the center of the room where people sit, and the line sort of forms in an L shape around this area. Ordering is done at the counter prior to sitting. The only con to this is that it gets really packed and so often people are crammed at the door and around other people who are sitting and trying to enjoy their meal. I have never waited longer than 10 minutes to get to the ordering counter, but arriving early is recommended. Sundays are busier than Saturdays from my personal observation. 

walton17

I ordered the shrimp and grits – one of my favorite dishes! My partner ordered the breakfast sandwich and beignets. The shrimp and grits were exceptionally delicious.  They tasted a little different from the first time I ordered them, but overall still very good. The beignets were okay. It is so hard to have beignets and not compare them to the oh-so-yummy Cafe Du Monde. The breakfast sandwich was average – the bacon was yum! Everything on the menu looks delicious – I will definitely visit again and try something new!

walton 12

There are three parts to the restaurant. The front area where you order your food along with some space for dining, the back area where the gift shop/flower shop is located, and the third part is another area of tables and chairs for dining. They also sell their plants, flowers, and other household products in house as well.

walton3

If you live in Austin or  if you are planning to visit the area soon, you won’t regret adding this little gem to your list of places to eat.

“Life is not about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard Shaw 

One thought on “On Sundays We Brunch

Leave a comment